Blake’s LGBT Community Member Highlight Featuring Diane Ponist

Diane Ponist is happily married to her beautiful wife, Kristin Ponist. They are foster parents and currently have 6 children. They assist other families in foster care and adoptions.

Name: Diane Ponist

Nickname: Di

Where do you live? Middletown, PA

How do you identify? Androgynous, Gender Fluid

What has been your biggest struggle?  Defending my children against the foster system.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?  My wife and I assisting so many families foster and adopt, especially within the LGBT community.

What would you say to someone considering coming out of the closet?  It’s hard, but if you have self-worth and put a wall of emotions up, all will be better.  Don’t expect your love ones to accept you, that may come with time or not at all.  But as long as you love yourself and are comfortable in your own skin, that is what is most important.

What are your hobbies? My hobbies include most things around a beach!!  I was born and raised near the Jersey Shore, I’m a beach bum.  I also love being in the sun simply in my backyard with my wife and kids (trampoline, water slide and pool).  My big passion is tattoos, I love getting tattoos.

What color of the rainbow are you? I would say my personality would represent Indigo on the rainbow…serenity

What is your favorite TV show or movie?  I watch mostly reality TV…movies vary, depends of how funny or intense the movie is to get me zoned in.  Some of them are MTV challenges, the wife and I watch always.  Movies are Bridesmaids, forgetting Sarah Marshall, Couples Retreat, etc.

Who is your favorite superhero? My favorite super hero is Batman, I love that he doesn’t technically have a super power.  He relies on his intellect and knowledge to do great things.

What do you do for work? I do a few things professionally; my day job is in the legal field.  I work from home, tracking down assets and employment of those that have judgments and are not paying the judgments.  My wife and I are also foster/adoptive parents, we currently have a 6 pack of children.  Also, we assist other families in foster and adoption, saving as many kids as possible within our foster system is very important to us.  I also write blogs about our own experiences within that same system.

Do you own a business?  We have a nonprofit “Fostering Hopes & Wishes” also I am partners in my legal work.

What is your relationship status? I have been married to Kristin since Aug of 2010.

What have you learned about yourself since you came out? I have learned to just be me, that’s the only way to find true happiness.  Not worrying about what people think of me helped me realize I can do anything I want to do.  I don’t need support of others or my appearance to be a certain way.  I march to my own drum and that works for me and my family.

What have you learned about yourself since your transformation? I have learned that when I cut my hair short (fohawk) I found myself much more.  I have a confidence in life that I never had before.  I stopped looking behind me and just keep moving forward to what life has in store.

What are your pet peeves?  My pet peeves include lying, if you lie I have no room in my life for you.  I also don’t do fake, I am brutally honest and love that in return.  I am also OCD and a clean freak.  So, lack of personal hygiene and laziness are a no no.

What is your favorite thing about you? My favorite thing about myself is that I see the positive in most situations.  When roads get rough, finding the good is what gets me through.

Who has been the most influential person in your life?  Hmmm that’s tough.  My mother is one, she has changed for the better and has been more open minded than I ever imagined her to be.  The second is my wife, she amazes me every day.  She went from very low self-esteem to being one of the strongest person I have ever met.  No matter what we go through, it tends to make her love me more for whatever reason.

What advice would you give to your LGBT family?  My advice is only from my own experiences.  I am an androgynous lesbian married to a femme with 6 children.  5 of the children are biracial plus foster/adopt.  Our 6th child is biologically my wife’s child, I chose not to carry.  We are a very blended family, dealing with pressure from all ends.   I mean from the foster system, society/public and family/friends.  My strongest advice is if you do not have a rock-solid marriage with full communication, it will not work.  We are the only ones to know what each other is going through at any given time.  If we are not on the same page always, this empire will fall apart.  Marry your best friend and genetics or race does not make you family.  It’s what is in your heart that matters!!! I could not love my children more if I gave birth to them.  They are mine because we fought for every one of them equally in one way or another.  That’s what makes you family, sticking with each other through each storm regardless of who may stand in your way.

What is your biggest strength?  My biggest strength is my heart, it’s the biggest part of me.  It’s what my life and family is built from.

What is your biggest weakness? My biggest weakness is that I want to help and save everyone and I just can’t.  I know that now, to choose my battles and I’m still a work in progress.

Do you have pets? We have dogs, I am not a cat person by any means

What is your favorite book? My favorite book, I don’t have one.  I only read current events, I cannot sit and get into a book.  Maybe it’s my A.D.D. that kicks in or too time consuming for me.

Do you have any phobias? My phobias are snakes, spiders (I scream like a 12 year old girl).  I also have a fear of not being able to move, like being restrained.

Who was your first crush? I have no idea who my first crush was. I realized at a very young age I was attracted to girls but cannot pin point who it was exactly.  I know celebrity wise was Julia Roberts, oddly Kristin won a lookalike contest with Julia Roberts

What is your happiest memory? My happiest moment would be a tie between my wedding since I never expected to get married.  The adoptions of my kids are right there also with the birth of our son, Gavin.  Those 3 things I cannot compare.

If you had 24 hrs to live, what would you do? If I had 24 hrs to live I would just spend every little second with my loved ones on the beach.  Jumping waves and toes in the sand watching the smiles so they would have a day to never forget me.  I would eat everything in site since my diet is completely restricting with my extreme food allergies!!

Visit their blog at http://fosteringhopes.blogspot.com/2017/04/have-you-ever-been-accused-of-something.html?m=1

Follow Diane on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/diane.kristin

Follow Diane on Instagram https://www.instagram.com/diane_ponist/

ponist11

 

 

 


One thought on “Blake’s LGBT Community Member Highlight Featuring Diane Ponist

  1. Diane, my wife follows you and your wife on Instagram. You two have the cutest family! I really admire what you’re doing with those kids. Keep up the good work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

