Blake’s LGBT Community Member Highlight Featuring “The LGBT’s Dating Coach” Jess Branas

11263069_10206521535736817_4221648188054139230_o

Jess Branas is “The LGBT’s Dating Coach” teaching members of our community self-love and confidence. She is a true inspiration.

Name:  Jess Branas

Nickname:  Jess

Where do you live?  Philadelphia, PA

How do you identify?  Lesbian

What has been your biggest struggle?  Finding my voice and letting it be heard.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?  Coming out of my 20s to mid 30s alive!  I did some crazy stuff back then, but I’ve finally made it to 40!

What would you say to someone considering coming out of the closet?  There is always support out there.  It may be scary, but you need to live YOUR life!

What are your hobbies?  I love to workout, grill and dance my ass off!

What color of the rainbow are you?  Red for passion, purple for creativity.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?  I’m a huge “House of Cards” fan.  I just binge watched… now I’m stuck for another year!

Who is your favorite superhero?  I like Spiderman.  As a kid I always wanted to swing through the air.

What do you do for work?  I’m a dating coach, host of Drinks with Jess and The Dating Pool Podcast, a two time Best Selling author and a writer for Inspiring Lives Magazine.

Do you own a business?  Yes as mentioned above.

What is your relationship status?  I am single and love it.  Casual dating still equals single.

What have you learned about yourself since you came out?  People love you for you!

What have you learned about yourself since your transformation?  We are evolving each day.  Take the lessons as they come with a smile.

What are your pet peeves?  Hmmm… this is a hard one.  I am regimented due to my schedule, so when it is disrupted by outside forces, it drives me nuts.  Gum popping is number two!

What is your favorite thing about you?  I constantly want to create something new.

Who has been the most influential person in your life?  I don’t have just one.  Each person that has come into my life has added to my world.

What advice would you give to your LGBT family?  Embrace who you are.  Every aspect of you.  That’s what it means to be whole.

What is your biggest strength?  Persistence

What is your biggest weakness?  Beautiful blondes

Do you have pets?  Yes.  I have a black pitbul/lab mix named Nacho.  He is a charmer and my son!

What is your favorite book?  I have plenty to choose from, but my favorite is “A Course In Miracles”.

Do you have any phobias?  Bats and Spiders.

Who was your first crush?  I had a crush on my friend Laurie.  I was probably 14 at the time.  I’m so thankful we are still friends today.

What is your happiest memory?  My happiest moment was waking up after cancer surgery with the feeling that no fear would get in my way of living.

If you had 24 hrs to live, what would you do?  I’d throw a huge party with great music, food and of course, my family and friends.  Having fun with everyone that I love is my ideal last day!

Visit Jess’s website http://www.dwjphl.com for more information on her blog, podcast, books and services.

IMG_7714

 


Leave a Reply

