Blake’s LGBT Community Member Highlight Featuring Jake Biondi

Boystown Season 1 Cover

Jake Biondi is the author of the popular BOYSTOWN series. Most definitely a guilty pleasure!

Family. Love. Deception. Romance. Power. Revenge.
​There’s no place like BOYSTOWN!

Name:  Jake Biondi

Nickname:  JB

Where do you live?  Chicago’s Boystown neighborhood

How do you identify?  Gay male

What has been your biggest struggle?  Writing and marketing the BOYSTOWN series has been an exciting challenge because I’m a “one man show.”  I write the books, do all the marketing and promotion, and manage all the social media.  It’s a lot of work, but it’s a lot of fun, too, especially when I get to meet and interact with fans.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?  The BOYSTOWN series is my greatest achievement.  What began as a short story posted on a few websites has become a seven book series enjoyed by fans all over the globe – and now it’s going to become a TV series, too.  I’m so grateful for this wonderful experience.

What would you say to someone considering coming out of the closet?  I would be very supportive and help the person determine when is the best time for them to come out.  Coming out is a very personal process and has to happen when the person is ready, not when others want him or her to come out.

What are your hobbies?  Gym, theater, TV, reading, travel, film, cooking

What color of the rainbow are you?  Purple (it’s my favorite color)

What is your favorite TV show or movie?  I have so many favorites.  I am a huge fan of ‘80s primetime soaps like Dynasty and Knots Landing.  I love The Golden Girls.  Currently, I enjoy This is Us and The Middle.  And I must admit that I like some reality TV shows, too.

What do you do for work?  I am an attorney and teacher in addition to writing the BOYSOTWN series.

What is your relationship status?  Single

What have you learned about yourself since you came out?  I’ve learned that I am stronger and more resilient than I originally thought.

What are your pet peeves?  People who claim to be open-minded but are not.

What is your favorite thing about you?  I think I’m a pretty generous person and a very good friend.

Who has been the most influential person in your life?  My family has influenced me a great deal.  Certainly, my teachers (especially in high school) have inspired me as well.

What advice would you give to your LGBT family?  Always stay true to yourself.

What is your biggest strength?  My support of family and friends.

What is your biggest weakness?  Falling in love too quickly.

What is your favorite book?  I love all sort of books.  I’m a huge fan of Charles Dickens and love all his novels.  In fact, his style of using cliffhangers to keep readers interested is a technique that I model in the BOYSTOWN series.

Do you have any phobias?  Snakes

Who was your first crush?  One of my high school classmates.

What is your happiest memory?  When I walked by a local bookstore here in Chicago and saw my BOYSTOWN books in the front window.

Social Media Info:

Website:  BoystownTheSeries.com

IG: @boystowntheseries

Twitter:  @boystown_series

Boystown Season 3 Cover

 

 

 

 

 


Leave a Reply

