Blake’s LGBT Community Member Highlight Featuring Dawn Carter

dean carter

Dawn Carter is an author of lesbian fiction and co-owner of “Wicked Publishing” along with her business associate and friend, Shiralyn Lee. Their company has many LGBT books published by a variety of authors and can all be found on her website http://www.wickedpublishing.net/.

Name: Dawn Carter

Where do you live? Texas

How do you identify? Lesbian

What has been your biggest struggle? My biggest struggle, that’s a loaded question. I don’t have one in particular at the moment, I have had them through life, but the main one was becoming me. What I mean by that is. Not allowing anyone to dictate who I should be. I struggled putting myself through school, which by the way, I am still doing. It’s an on going process. We never stop learning. I am at the moment working on my BS in Psychology. I will be done this year.

What do you consider your greatest achievement? My children, they have given me so much and I’m so very proud of them. Next is my company which I co-founded with Shiralyn J. Lee. We started Wicked Publishing to help lesbian fiction authors break free of the stigmas and help them become successful. We have and are still doing that.

What would you say to someone considering coming out of the closet? Jump out, stay out, and don’t let anyone make you feel less for who you are.

What are your hobbies? I have a lot, but I’ll keep this short. I am an author, writing will always be my top, but…I enjoy other things…Cooking, decorating, gardening, and taking naps…Oh yes, I love a good nap and will pass over several of the above to have one.

What color of the rainbow are you? I am not just one. I am streaked through and through.

What is your favorite TV show or movie? Anything true crime. Wentworth which is a spinoff of Prisoner Cell block H.

Who is your favorite superhero?  Wonder Woman. Could there be anyone else? Unless you asked who is my hero? That would have to be every woman who’s shoulders I stood on to overcome adversity.

What do you do for work? I am a Publisher.

Do you own a business? Yes, Wicked Publishing

What is your relationship status? I am single

What have you learned about yourself since you came out? I was young when I came out…What I learned from the journey, the glass is always half full. We have to look at the positive so we keep moving forward.

What are your pet peeves? People who are not honest. If I can’t trust ya, you have no business in my circle.

What is your favorite thing about you? Hmm, about me?  Well, I’d have to say, my willingness to see things from outside the box.

Who has been the most influential person in your life? My mother. She was strong, beautiful, and successful.

What advice would you give to your LGBT family? Live…Just live…Smile, laugh, and be happy. Don’t allow the world around you to bring you down. You have the power to make change, to live a happy life. Don’t give anyone else that power over you.

What is your biggest strength? I am a leader. Not that I like to be, but when I have too, I am on it.

What is your biggest weakness? I can be too trusting.

Do you have pets? Yes I do. I have three dogs and I do rescue.

What is your favorite book? BOOKS? Never one. I can’t think of just one. I love so many, have read thousands and each one holds a special place.

Do you have any phobias? Oh my, yes. Spiders

Who was your first crush?  Her name of Michelle Knight, I was five, she was 11. I guess I just liked older women, then.

What is your happiest memory? The day my son was born and I heard him cry for the first time.

If you had 24 hrs to live, what would you do? I would spend every second of that with my children.

What do you wish you were braver about?  Telling people no. I tend to be a people pleaser.

If you had one super power, what would it be and why?  I would be like bewitched. I would wiggle my nose and make things happen.

http://www.dawncarterbooks.com

 

wicked publishing

 


Leave a Reply

