Blake’s LGBT Community Member Highlight Featuring Pamela Roundtree

pamela

Whew….I challenge you to just try and keep up with this energetic inspiration! Pamela Roundtree owns “NewBody.NewMind.NewLiving”. Her mission in life is to inspire others through fitness, nutrition, and meditation and she has taken many in her community of New Jersey to a whole new level of existence and self betterment. It was a honor to do this interview on this amazing person.

I admire two things about Pamela that speaks volumes to me. Number One – She believes in NO LABELS. (Many of you know that is something I believe strongly in.) Number two – She overcame many naysayers to achieve her dream. (I find naysayers can actually be motivation if used to bring out the rebellious spirit in you.)

Name: Pamela Roundtree

Nickname: Pam The Guru

Where do you live? Jersey City, NJ

What has been your biggest struggle? My biggest struggle has been being true to myself in a society that is constantly trying to label people.  Being a woman who is black and gay, I already have three strikes against me.

What do you consider your greatest achievement? Completing four successful, free “Health and Fitness Day” for my community of Jersey City.

What would you say to someone considering coming out of the closet? You have nothing to fear. We are in 2017 many people are more accepting when it comes to the LGBT community. Some people may not accept it, and that’s fine, you don’t need those type of people in your life anyway. More importantly be you. No one is you, and no one can tell you how to be you.

What are your hobbies? Reading and bicycle riding.

What color of the rainbow are you? Purple. That’s the color in the Chakra’s associated with the crown of your head. Purple symbolizes royalty, and I wear my crown proudly everyday. But my favorite color is gray.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?  Living Single. I love Queen Latifah and consider her a role model.

Do you own a business? Yes, my business is NewBody.NewMind.NewLiving, and my mission is to cure obesity through fitness, nutrition, and meditation. I’ve been in operation since 2012. NewBML is now a staple in Jersey City. I was overweight myself in 2010, and once I lost the weight and kept it off, I wanted to show people how to make fitness a lifestyle.

What is your relationship status? I have been in a committed relationship since 2015.

What is your favorite thing about you? That I am myself. It took me a long time to be 100% comfortable with myself.

Who has been the most influential person in your life? So many people. My mom, my sister, my family, my girlfriend. But a person whose Blueprint I’ve studied is Ellen Degeneres. She doesn’t allow labels to describe who she is.

What advice would you give to your LGBT family?​ LOVE, LOVE, LOVE. That is the strongest force there is. Be yourself. Don’t allow anyone to tell you who are. My aunt Gina told me when I came out to her that “being gay is what I am, not who I am.” That really helped me stay true to my personality. I didn’t feel like I had to be extra aggressive because I don’t wear dresses, or that I can’t reach for the stars because I don’t wear heels.

What is your biggest strength? The confidence I have in myself. I’ve been told by people that my business wouldn’t make it, or that I wouldn’t make it. But I had to believe in myself when no one else would.

What is your biggest weakness? I put too much trust in people. I love love. And I try to put love in everyone but not everyone is on the same frequency as love. There were times when I was hurt or taken advantage of because of that.

What is your favorite book? The Autobiography of Malcolm X.

If you had 24 hrs to live, what would you do? I live everyday like I only have 24 hours left. Tomorrow isn’t promised.

Website link: https://squareup.com/store/newbody-dot-newmind-dot-newliving/

FaceBook link: https://www.facebook.com/newbodynewmindnewliving/

Instagram link: https://Instagram.com/newbody_newmind_newliving

Twitter: https://Twitter.com/BodyMindLiving

pamela2

pamela3


Leave a Reply

