Blake’s LGBT Community Member Highlight Featuring Selena “SR” Silcox

Sel small

Check out this fun-loving Australian author. Selena “SR” Silcox fills a much needed niche in the LGBT Community by writing romance novels for lesbian teens. See link at the end of this interview to her website and books.

Name: Selena Silcox, writing as S R Silcox

Nickname: Multiples – Silly, Silky-jocks, Sel, Selsy, Silky, Leeny…

Where do you live? The (mostly) sunny Queensland coast of Australia

How do you identify? Female, lesbian

What has been your biggest struggle? Shrugging off the perceived expectations of others and giving myself permission to follow my heart and my dreams of being an author.

What do you consider your greatest achievement? Publishing my first book.

What are your hobbies? Watching cricket (in the summer), reading, Netflix-binging, following politics, and colouring in on my tablet.

What is your favorite TV show or movie? I love crime shows and romcoms – Favourite TV show would probably be Bones (but that will change, depending on my mood and what I’m watching at the time); favourite movie is The Sound of Music, followed closely by Bend It Like Beckham (I played soccer for over 20 years, so this is a no-brainer).

What do you do for work? I am writing full time now after being an accountant for a number of years, though not making a full time living at writing (yet).

What is your relationship status? Non-legally married. And by that I mean my wife and I have had a commitment ceremony (our wedding), but it’s still not legal in Australia. We describe ourselves as married because it certainly sounds far better than being ‘committed’.

What are your pet peeves? The use of the word “mandate” and businesses that have a contact form on their website but apparently never check their emails.

What is your favorite thing about you? My wife (haha!) My ability to bake something sweet at short notice when I need a little something extra with my afternoon coffee.

What is your biggest strength? To be able to spend time by myself without going crazy – handy for an author

What is your biggest weakness? Self-doubt. It sticks around no matter how old you get, or how much experience you have.

Do you have pets? Yes. Two dogs. A kelpie cross called Daisy and a lab cross called Ruby.

Do you have any phobias? Spiders (ick!) I literally climbed over the back of a lounge chair and woke my wife up late at night for her to get rid of one when it crawled across the lounge room floor. Neither the spider, nor my wife, were impressed.

Who was your first crush? A girl called Melanie when I was back in high school.

What is your happiest memory? Spending time with my cousins on the family farm on school holidays at the height of Queensland summers.

If you had 24 hrs to live, what would you do? Have a massive party so I could spend time with all of my favourite people.

My website – www.srsilcox.com

After-Summer-Low-Resolution-Version-2-375x600

 

Crush-Low-Resolution-624x997

 

 


Leave a Reply

