Blake’s LGBT Community Member Highlight Featuring Erin Wade

erinheadshot

Erin Wade writes Lesbian Action/Adventure novels. Right now, all four of her books are in Amazon’s Top 100 Best Sellers list for Lesbian Action/Adventure/Romance, “Too Strong to Die”, “Death was To Easy”, “The Destiny Factor” as D. J. Jouett. “Three Times as Deadly” –  which pre-sales are already on top 100 list.

Name: ERIN WADE

Nickname: I write mainstream novels under the name of D. J. Jouett. The Destiny Factor is under D. J. Jouett because I started to write it as a mainstream novel, then it took a life of its own and morphed into a lesbian story.  I found I enjoyed writing lesbian fiction and have written for our community since that time.

Where do you live? Austin, Texas

How do you identify? Female

What has been your biggest struggle? I have never had a struggle. My family is wonderful and has always accepted me as the person I am. I have been fortunate as a writer and have been very successful in my chosen field. I have been married to the same wonderful woman for the past nine years.

What do you consider your greatest achievement? Getting Alex to marry me.

What would you say to someone considering coming out of the closet?  Just do your own thing. Being a lesbian is no big deal. It doesn’t change who you are. It doesn’t change your fundamental character. Strive to be the best person you can be. Being a lesbian doesn’t characterize one any more than being a heterosexual defines who someone is. And always remember, in your actions and words, you only have to answer for yourself.

What are your hobbies? Horseback riding, reading, miniature golf, attending musicals, and swimming. I didn’t list writing as a hobby, because I am very serious about it. Writing is too important to classify as a hobby.

What color of the rainbow are you? Blue – Serene. I avoid people that are toxic and situation that are filled with drama. If someone doesn’t improve the quality of my life, I don’t need them in it.

What is your favorite TV show or movie? Wonder Woman

Who is your favorite superhero? Wonder Woman

What do you do for work? I am a land broker.

Do you own a business? Yes

What is your relationship status? Married to Alex Wade

What have you learned about yourself since you came out? I have always been “Out”.

What are your pet peeves? I cannot abide pretentious people. I dislike name droppers and anyone who thinks they are better than others.

What is your favorite thing about you? I am steady. I am committed. Those I love can always count on me. I am happy.  I am pretty much all the things a Taurus is.

Who has been the most influential person in your life? My wife. She makes me be the best I can be. She is the most incredible person I have ever met. She makes me strive to be a better person.

What advice would you give to your LGBT family? Be yourself. Support one another. Avoid the ones who are drama queens.

What is your biggest strength? I am steadfast and dedicated. I always finish what I start. If I tell you I will do something, you can count on it.

What is your biggest weakness? I hate to travel. I don’t like being away from home. I have traveled a lot and honestly, there is no place like home! Alex and I have worked hard to make our home our sanctuary and we both love being home together.

Do you have pets? I have a little guy named Tank. He is a Shih Tzu/Chihuahua cross. He really is the epitome of the saying “I wish I were the person my dog thinks I am.” He takes every step I take. He sleeps with us and lays in his chair beside me when I am working at the computer. When we watch TV, he sleeps in my lap.

What is your favorite book? Tryst by Elswyth Thane

Who was your first crush? Fifth grade English teacher

What is your happiest memory? Meeting my wife.

If you had 24 hrs to live, what would you do? I would spend every minute of it talking to Alex. I would walk with her. I would let her know how much I love her and how important she is to me. I’d do pretty much the same things I now do every day.

All links to my books, Facebook page, etc., are on my Website: http://www.erinwade.us

erin

 


Leave a Reply

