Blake’s LGBT Community Member Highlight Featuring Poet Tommo Jentry – TJ

tj

I’m very impressed with the heartfelt, beautiful words that come from this young poet, TJ. Anytime a poem can bring you to the brink of tears – that’s good poetry. Here is an example from her collection. Please find link to her page at the end of this article.

Someone With Less

My heart goes out to families that are poor
Kids who get a meal a day instead of 3 or 4
My heart goes out to those with nowhere to sleep at night
To those who gotta dig in the trash only for a bite
My heart goes out to victims of abuse
Those trying to overcome drug use
My heart goes out to the terminally ill
To those who struggle to pay one bill 
My heart goes out to those in war
To those who work til they are sore
My heart goes out to orphans and the disabled too
To all the premature babies that do not make it through
My heart goes out to the parents out there
And to the kids who raise themselves with no one to care
My heart goes out to those with friends who’ve died
To those who were so sad they commited suicide
You’ve got to remember others have problems too
There’s always a person who has it worse than you                                                                      
TJ

 

 Name: T.J Tommo Jentry

Nickname: moonbug

Where do you live? Mount Morris, Michigan

How do you identify? I’m a pansexual trans male but I don’t like labels. More than anything , I am just me , Tj.

What has been your biggest struggle? Overcoming the struggles of my childhood has definitely been my biggest struggle , just learning to accept and cope with things I experienced, I have a way to go but I’m getting there.

What do you consider your greatest achievement? Graduating high school . Even with my learning disability and many odds against me , I went 2 extra years , and graduated.

What would you say to someone considering coming out of the closet? Life isn’t all rainbows and butterflies but you can’t live the perfect life while hiding who you truly are either . Coming out is hard but it is life changing also , I say go for it but only when you’re ready.

What are your hobbies? Poetry , nature walks , stargazing , painting , meditation , cooking , coloring , writing and listening to music , are some of my many hobbies.

What color of the rainbow are you? Purple if I had to choose but I identify more as the rainbow itself.

What is your favorite TV show or movie? “I am jazz” is a wonderful show , however I don’t watch t.v or movies much.

Who is your favorite superhero? I don’t have a favorite I’ve never watched a superhero movie actually. But if I had to go off of what I do know , Batman.

What do you do for work? I’m disabled and do not work , but I work on being a better me daily.

What is your relationship status? I’m in a relationship with the most amazing man ever!

What have you learned about yourself since you came out? I’ve learned since coming out theat can love myself in time , that being me in a hard life is better than being someone else in a hard life.

What have you learned about yourself since your transformation? I’m still transforming but I’ve learned my potential is higher than I ever gave myself credit for.

What are your pet peeves? My biggest pet peeve is when people chew with their mouths open.

What is your favorite thing about you? My favorite thing about myself is I am me and nobody else I’m unique.

Who has been the most influential person in your life? Honestly I never really had a role model . My family was and is extremely dysfunctional and I kind of depended on myself my whole life.

What advice would you give to your LGBT family? Just be you !

What is your biggest strength? My biggest strength is that I always get back up . I’ve dealt with abuse , eating disorders , a learning disability , self harm , suicide attempts and after everything I’ve experienced I don’t stop. When I fall I get back up. Every time.

What is your biggest weakness? Doubting myself is my biggest weakness.

Do you have pets? Yes my punkeroni , he’s a Papillon dog and about 2.5 years old.

What is your favorite book? Probably the writers Inc book.

Do you have any phobias? Yes . I’m terrified of spiders.

What is your happiest memory? Niagara falls Canada for sure , it was Canada day and it was amazing !

If you had 24 hrs to live, what would you do? Something meaningful to let those in my life know what they mean to me is what I would do if I knew I had only one day to live.

Link to TJ’s Poetry Collection Page – https://www.facebook.com/TJ-Word-PlayPoems-And-Music-694027624123805/

In Your Name Amen

My dusty bible had never been read
Service began as I layed in bed
Times when I was so afraid
All the prayers I never prayed
I spoke of being so alone
Our relationship hadn’t yet grown
Please forgive me my father and friend
I pray for forgiveness in your name amen                                                                                       TJ

 

 


Leave a Reply

