Blake’s LGBT Community Member Highlight Featuring Mary Crawley (Retired Army Transgender Woman)

mary crawley2
I first met Mary through a Facebook group called “We Support Trans Soldiers” (link to follow article).  Messaging her through a pm to thank her for her service, we talked for a while. Throughout our conversation, I knew that I wanted to highlight this brave individual in my blog so I approached her about it. Before asking, she told me about herself and how she had served our country for 28 yrs and was now retired from the United States Army. I asked this beautiful woman if I could interview her for my blog and the first thing she said to me was, “I’m nothing remarkable.” Stunned I replied that the fact you served our country for so long is remarkable just in its self but the fact you were brave enough to go through your transition and to find your true identity was “REMARKABLE” and that you will inspire many. I am honored to introduce to you, Mary Crawley.
2017-08-12 (2)
Name:Mary Jayne Crawley
Nickname: MJ
Where do you live? Fort Smith, Arkansas
How do you identify? Transgender Woman 
What has been your biggest struggle? Finding someone to love me for who I am.
What do you consider your greatest achievement? Being true to myself because in the End that is all that matters.
What would you say to someone considering coming out of the closet? It will get worse before it gets better but it will get better.
What are your hobbies? Traveling, Shopping, and doing my makeup.
What color of the rainbow are you? Definitely Pink
What is your favorite TV show or movie? Vampire Diaries
Who is your favorite superhero? Wonder Woman
What do you do for work? I am retired from the U.S. Army 
What have you learned about yourself since you came out? Things that were a part of me in my old life remain apart of who I am.
What have you learned about yourself since your transformation? That it is more than me just feeling. I was a woman, so much just came so natural I know I was meant to be a woman.
What are your pet peeves? Willfully ignorant people who stay ignorant just so they can hate.
What is your favorite thing about you? My sense of style.
Who has been the most influential person in your life? Laverne Cox and Jazz Jennings I wish I had there platform to bring about equality.
What advice would you give to your LGBT family? No matter what stay true to yourself, you are the only one that will.
What is your biggest strength? I am stubborn when it comes to my right to exist as my true self.
What is your biggest weakness? I hate being alone I feel I need someone in my life
.
What is your favorite book? The Harry Potter Series
Do you have any phobias? I am afraid of heights.
Who was your first crush? Before I understood what I was feeling I thought my first crush was Kristy McNicol, but later I realized my first crush was a boy I went to school with but now I know he sees me as an abomination (to this day he has never known I was crushing on him)
What is your happiest memory? Actually it is a recent memory when I started Hormone Replacement Therapy. 
If you had 24 hrs to live, what would you do? Probably find away to get all the media to explain just what Transgender people go thru.
2017-08-05 (2).png

2 thoughts on “Blake’s LGBT Community Member Highlight Featuring Mary Crawley (Retired Army Transgender Woman)

  1. I have known Mary since she was a teenager, and I married her brother. He and I are no longer married, but that is beside the point. I admire Mary for having the guts to be herself. She needs to hold her head high and and stop worrying about being alone because there is someone one out there for everyone. GREAT BIG THUMBS UP MARY.

    Like

  2. I have known Mary, (Mary Sunshine), for approximately two years. She is one of the most loving, caring and honest people I have ever met. She takes the value of friendships and family to the core of her soul. She has done a very, VERY great deal for millions of people, while serving our Country, and it was time she finally did something for herself. We met after her transition, and I was simply amazed by her story. We have been like sisters since that first evening of meeting, and I consider myself extremely blessed for having her in my life. I truly appreciate this blog. It is time someone stands up for the true American principal, “Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

